Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

October 20, 2022 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday October 20, 2022 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Jennifer Zahradnik, At Large, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Loras Schulte, Norway, Tracy Seeman, County, Bruce Visser, Atkins, Dave Fish, Belle Plaine, Bruce Cross, Newhall, Alicia Presto, ECICOG, Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg and Jon Kaestner, County.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Visser seconded by Cross to approve the September 15, 2022 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Thorkildson, seconded by Seeman to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included project update, equipment repairs, new employee update, DNR inspection, audit update and possible compaction software. Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Fish to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included Belle Plaine FFA waste audit for lunches, comp plan info, monthly training and the compost bin rebate program. Motion made by Fish, seconded by Visser to approve the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Visser to approve Resolution 2022-10-01 Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Thorkildson, seconded by Fish to approve Resolution 2022-10-02 Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Cross to approve Resolution 2022-10-03 Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Visser, seconded by Fish to approve Resolution 2022-10-04 CD for C/PC Fund Renewal. All Ayes.

Discussion was held about wages.

Motion to adjourn made by Zahradnik, seconded by Kaestner. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 6:50PM.

Chairperson